Latest News

Couple Of Texans Going In the Hall of Fame

Happy to announce a couple of Texans will be inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame!

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced Townes Van Zandt, Bob Morrison, Aaron Barker, and Beth Nielsen Chapman will be inducted as its newest members.


Pictured (clockwise from top left): Bob Morrison, Townes Van Zandt, Aaron Barker, Beth Nielsen Chapman

The four new members will join the current 199 existing members of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame when they are inducted during the 46th annual Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala, slated for Oct. 9 at Nashville’s Music City Center, according to MusicRow magazine.

Texas native Van Zandt (born in Ft. Worth) took up his folk music career in 1965. By 1968, his music had been heard by Mickey Newbury, who brought him to Nashville. A lengthy list of critically acclaimed songs followed, including “No Place To Fall,” “To Live Is To Fly,” and others. He died on Jan. 1, 1997 at age 52. In 2012, he was inducted into the Texas Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Barker (born in San Antonio) honed his musical abilities during his nearly two decades performing in a band that played military bases and public events. His first attempt at songwriting, titled “Baby Blue,” became a No. 1 hit for George Strait. “Baby Blue” was the genesis of a string of hits for Strait, including “Love Without End, Amen,” “Easy Come, Easy Go,” “I Can Still Make Cheyenne,” and more. Barker also penned and recorded many radio and television commercials for the Blue Bell Ice Cream Company, including “Have Yourself A Blue Bell Country Day,” and “The Good Ol’ Days.” He was inducted into the Texas Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2007.

Congrats to them all!

Leave a Reply