Latest News

ACL Honors Guy Clark, Other Icons

The long lasting music TV show, Austin City Limits, will kick off it’s 41st season on October 3 with a pretty bad ass show planned to kick it off!

According to, the first show to air is the annual Hall of Fame induction show, which honors the newest class of ACL inductees — Asleep at the Wheel, Townes Van Zandt, Loretta Lynn, Flaco Jiménez and Guy Clark — with help from a handful of guest artists.

Guy Clark

Guy Clark

Among those guests is Jason Isbell, who performs Guy Clark’s “Desperadoes Waiting for a Train” in honor of its writer.  Clark, who was still recovering from surgery during the show’s June 18th taping, is absent from the clip, with Isbell playing the nostalgic tune alone.

Dwight Yoakam, Vince Gill, Lyle Lovett, Laura Marling, Patty Loveless, Los Lobos’ David Hidalgo, Gillian Welch and Dave Rawlings all make appearances on the season premiere of Austin City Limits, too, each artist paying tribute to — or playing alongside — the show’s newest Hall of Famers.

You can see Jason’s performance of that incredible tune here:

Leave a Reply